cosmomc: varying w

Use of Cobaya. camb, CLASS, cosmomc, compilers, etc.
suman bhattacharya
Affiliation: University of Pittsburgh

Post by suman bhattacharya » March 07 2007

Hi,
I am new to cosmomc so I apologize if this issue have already been addressed. I tried varying w+ 6 standard parameters.
Way I do this is: in params.ini file
#w
param7 = -0.9 -1.5 -0.4 0.02 0.01.

I did not make any other changes.

Do I have to change anything else in any code?

I am asking this because results don't look correct to me. ( I am getting better constraint on most of the parameters varying w than otherwise).

First I use propose matrix for 6 paramters. Compute 1000 steps.Then use getdist to find new .covmat matrix and use it for further run. However the code doesn't converge 50000 steps. Is this usual?

Thanks for helping!
Best,
Suman.

Antony Lewis
Affiliation: University of Sussex

Re: cosmomc: varying w

Post by Antony Lewis » March 07 2007

1000 is probably not enough. I suggest you use the MPI proposal-learning options if you can.

suman bhattacharya
Affiliation: University of Pittsburgh

Post by suman bhattacharya » March 07 2007

Thanks very much for your prompt reply. But currently I am running on one CPU. I assume MPI_LearnPropose=T will not work here. But I will try your suggestion while running on a cluster. If you have an estimate of no of steps required to update propose matrix then I can try that.

Ben Gold
Affiliation: University of Minnesota

Post by Ben Gold » March 08 2007

I'm new to cosmomc myself, but just a couple random suggestions:

1) If you can't use the MPI options, I believe you can always try running getdist to get the covmat from your 50,000 long chain, and use that to start another (similar length) chain.