Cobaya: how can I change the range of variable?

Use of Cobaya. camb, CLASS, cosmomc, compilers, etc.
Post Reply
Zhu-Yao Wang
Posts: 15
Joined: September 16 2020
Affiliation: Northeastern University

Cobaya: how can I change the range of variable?

Post by Zhu-Yao Wang » September 21 2020

Hi I'm now focusing on how Neff will affect [math]. I tried to make the triangle plot but the range of Neff keeps in a very small region (2.9-3.3). But I want to expand this region to 0 to 6.
Here is my code and I tried to change scale but it doesn't work.

Code: Select all

nnu:
 56     prior:
 57       min: 0.05
 58       max: 10
 59     ref:
 60       dist: norm
 61       loc: 3.046
 62       scale: 1
 63     proposal: 0.05
Is there a way to change it wider range?
Thank you for your help!

Natalie Hogg
Posts: 5
Joined: September 04 2020
Affiliation: IPht CEA Paris-Saclay

Re: Cobaya: how can I change the range of variable?

Post by Natalie Hogg » September 21 2020

Do you mean you want to sample a larger range? If so, you need to change the min and max values of the prior in your .yaml file (though it looks like your prior is already covering the range 0 to 6).

If you've already run your chains and you want to simply change what is plotted by GetDist, you can include a file with the same name as your chain files, with the file type .ranges, in the same directory as your chain files. This file lists the minimum and maximum values for each parameter when plotted. It looks like this:

Code: Select all

omegabh2                  0.5000000E-02    0.1000000E+00
omegach2                  0.1000000E-02    0.9900000E+00
H0                        0.5500000E+02    0.8500000E+02
tau                       0.5800000E-01    0.5800000E-01
.ranges files are generated automatically by CosmoMC, but perhaps they are not generated by Cobaya. You don't need to specify a range for every parameter, so you could create such a file by hand, just giving the range for Neff. More info here under "Samples file format": https://getdist.readthedocs.io/en/latest/intro.html

Zhu-Yao Wang
Posts: 15
Joined: September 16 2020
Affiliation: Northeastern University

Re: Cobaya: how can I change the range of variable?

Post by Zhu-Yao Wang » September 21 2020

Thanks Natalie. I meant to sample a larger range. I changed the prior but the result I got only cover a very small region. In the plot I got, the x axis range is 0-6 but the contours still lies within a small region(2.5-3.5). Is there a way to change the distribution? Thanks!

Post Reply