Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Use of Cobaya. camb, CLASS, cosmomc, compilers, etc.
alireza hojjati
Posts: 10
Joined: May 25 2008
Affiliation: Institute for the early universe

Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by alireza hojjati » March 28 2013

Hi Antony,

I am trying to add new parameters to CosmoMC. Since the structure has changed in this version and there is no definition of "num_hard" in the settings.f90 anymore, I tried to change it in cmbtypes.f90 as

num_hard = slow_num + 6

And add the new parameters right before the derived parameters (After #21: Aphiphi and #22:omegal). I get errors such as :

params_CMB.f90(188): error #6410: This name has not been declared as an array or a function. [PARAMS]
Params(22) = CMB%mag1
----- ^

Any suggestion?

Thanks,

Alireza

Antony Lewis
Posts: 1941
Joined: September 23 2004
Affiliation: University of Sussex
Contact:

Re: Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Antony Lewis » March 28 2013

To add new theory parameters

* add the definition of the physical parameter to CMBParams in cmbtypes.f90

* Change params_CMB.f90 to add a new parameterization or modify an existing one (with a corresponding .paramnames file with the new parameter names in). In particular the _Init routine does

Code: Select all

call SetTheoryParameterNumbers(num_slow_params,num_semi_slow_params)
which sets the number of hard and semi-hard parameters (the latter being things like initial power spectrum parameters) and then

Code: Select all

  call this%Init(Ini,Names, 'params_CMB.paramnames')
to set the parameter names file.

* Modify CMB_Cls_Simple.f90 to pass your new CMBParams parameters to CAMB to actually change the result

* Edit your .ini files to to add range and width settings for the new parameter names


If instead your parameter is a likelihood parameter (nuisance parameter), the new parameter can be handled entirely inside your likelihood function code (see supernovae_SNLS.f90 for a simple example that has two nuisance parameters): you just set the .paramnames file (which determimes the number of new parameters), and then use them when passed in to your likelihood function.

alireza hojjati
Posts: 10
Joined: May 25 2008
Affiliation: Institute for the early universe

Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by alireza hojjati » March 30 2013

Thanks, it worked !

Tijmen de Haan
Posts: 7
Joined: May 30 2013
Affiliation: UC Berkeley

Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Tijmen de Haan » July 30 2013

My likelihood code includes likelihood/nuisance parameters, which I've successfully added as suggested.

My code is faster than the Planck likelihood, but slower than CAMB. Is it possible to assign these nuisance parameters their own fast/slow subspace?

Antony Lewis
Posts: 1941
Joined: September 23 2004
Affiliation: University of Sussex
Contact:

Re: Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Antony Lewis » July 30 2013

Each likelihood object has a speed parameter, just set the appropriate number for the relative speed (CamSpec is set to have speed 5, higher number is faster).

Tijmen de Haan
Posts: 7
Joined: May 30 2013
Affiliation: UC Berkeley

Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Tijmen de Haan » August 01 2013

Thanks. I noticed some code in paramdef.F90, and the clik_speed_* parameters in the clik-related ini files. How do I set the analogous speed parameter for my likelihood (which I added simply as an .ini file in batch1, a .paramnames file in data, a .f90 file in source, and an entry in DataLikelihoods.f90)?

Antony Lewis
Posts: 1941
Joined: September 23 2004
Affiliation: University of Sussex
Contact:

Re: Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Antony Lewis » August 01 2013

In your f90 file defining your descendant of CosmologyLikelihood set the speed parateter. E.g.

Code: Select all

  module MyLlike
    use likelihood

    type, extends(CosmologyLikelihood) :: MyLikelihood
    ..
    contains
    ..
    end type MyLikelihood

..
    contains
 ..
    subroutine MyLike_Add(LikeList,Ini)
    class(LikelihoodList) :: LikeList
    Type(TIniFile) :: ini
    type(MyLikelihood), pointer :: like

     allocate(like)
     like%speed =  2
 ..

    call LikeList%Add(like)

...


end module

Tijmen de Haan
Posts: 7
Joined: May 30 2013
Affiliation: UC Berkeley

Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Tijmen de Haan » August 01 2013

Awesome, thanks Antony!

Andrei Lazanu
Posts: 3
Joined: March 21 2014
Affiliation: University of Cambridge

Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Andrei Lazanu » March 21 2014

Hi Antony,

Is the same true for the March 2014 version? I have modifeid the March 2013 according to your suggestions and it worked fine, but in the case of the March 2014 one the program compiles but does not seem to correctly read the parameter in the .ini file.

Best,
Andrei

Antony Lewis
Posts: 1941
Joined: September 23 2004
Affiliation: University of Sussex
Contact:

Re: Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Antony Lewis » March 22 2014

A few things have been renamed. The template is now

Code: Select all

  module MyLlike
    use Likelihood_Cosmology

    type, extends(TCosmologyLikelihood) :: TMyLikelihood
    ..
    contains
    ..
    end type TMyLikelihood

..
    contains
 ..
    subroutine MyLike_Add(LikeList,Ini)
    class(TLikelihoodList) :: LikeList
    class(TSettingIni) :: ini
    type(TMyLikelihood), pointer :: like

     allocate(like)
     like%speed =  2
 ..

    call LikeList%Add(like)

...


end module
You can look at the various provided likelihoods for other examples.

Andrei Lazanu
Posts: 3
Joined: March 21 2014
Affiliation: University of Cambridge

Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Andrei Lazanu » March 24 2014

Thanks Antony for the reply. In my case the parameter is a physical one so my question is if there is anything different compared to the previous versions apart from the obvious program name renamings, or if there is any other new place where I would have to add the parameter.
To add new theory parameters

* add the definition of the physical parameter to CMBParams in cmbtypes.f90

* Change params_CMB.f90 to add a new parameterization or modify an existing one (with a corresponding .paramnames file with the new parameter names in). In particular the _Init routine does
Code:
call SetTheoryParameterNumbers(num_slow_params,num_semi_slow_params)

which sets the number of hard and semi-hard parameters (the latter being things like initial power spectrum parameters) and then
Code:
call this%Init(Ini,Names, 'params_CMB.paramnames')

to set the parameter names file.

* Modify CMB_Cls_Simple.f90 to pass your new CMBParams parameters to CAMB to actually change the result

* Edit your .ini files to to add range and width settings for the new parameter names

Antony Lewis
Posts: 1941
Joined: September 23 2004
Affiliation: University of Sussex
Contact:

Re: Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Antony Lewis » March 24 2014

The readme was out of date, I've now updated that section - thanks.

Saisandri Saini
Posts: 10
Joined: February 13 2020
Affiliation: MHRD

Re: Adding parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Saisandri Saini » February 13 2020

Hii
I am trying to add "mnu" as a parameter to the chains and then use it in my Plots.How can I do it? I am using CosmoMC july 2019. Thanks

Cristhian GQ
Posts: 11
Joined: March 27 2019
Affiliation: University of Texas at Dallas

Re: Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Cristhian GQ » February 16 2020

Hello,

in the file batch3/params_CMB_defaults.ini, you need to change

param[mnu] = 0.06

for a fix value, to a a parameter by adding its center value, min value, max value, start width, and propose width. For example, replace the above by

param[mnu] = 0.06 0 0.9 0.005 0.005

or whatever values you want. Then CosmoMC will vary that parameter also.

Best regards,
Cristhian Garcia.

Antony Lewis
Posts: 1941
Joined: September 23 2004
Affiliation: University of Sussex
Contact:

Re: Adding new parameters to CosmoMC, March-13

Post by Antony Lewis » February 17 2020

Or, better, set param[mnu] in the ini file for your run rather than changing the default one. Generally you shouldn't need to edit files in batch3, parameters can be overridden in the .ini file actually used.

Post Reply