CosmoCoffee Forum Index CosmoCoffee

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch  MemberlistSmartFeed   MemberlistMemberlist    RegisterRegister 
   ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 
Arxiv New Filter | Bookmarks & clubs | Arxiv ref/author:

Problem with triangular plot: contour levels must be increasing
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CosmoCoffee Forum Index -> Computers and software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sunny Vagnozzi



Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 41
Affiliation: Oskar Klein Centre, Stockholm University

PostPosted: November 17 2017  Reply with quote

Hi Antony et al.,

after having run getdist on my chains, I try to plot a triangular plot with the root_tri.py script, but I get
Quote:
ValueError: filled contour levels must be increasing

which prevents the triangular plot from being drawn.

Any idea what might be causing this and how to fix it?

Cheers,
Sunny
Back to top
View user's profile  
Antony Lewis



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1291
Affiliation: University of Sussex

PostPosted: November 17 2017  Reply with quote

Not sure, did this change in a recent matplotlib update, or is it specific to the chain outputs that you have? (eg. try it on a Planck chain)
Do you also get this using the GetDist gui/python scripts?
Back to top
View user's profile [ Hidden ] Visit poster's website
Sunny Vagnozzi



Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 41
Affiliation: Oskar Klein Centre, Stockholm University

PostPosted: November 17 2017  Reply with quote

It's specific to my chains, no problem with e.g. Planck chains. I suspect it might be that the chains haven't converged properly (e.g. I notice that the 1D posterior on one of the parameters is almost flat on the prior range [0,1] I imposed but with some wiggles which make its posterior non-monotonic). Could that be a problem?
Back to top
View user's profile  
Antony Lewis



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1291
Affiliation: University of Sussex

PostPosted: November 17 2017  Reply with quote

Possibly, I'd look at the coloured scatter (3D) plots instead.
Back to top
View user's profile [ Hidden ] Visit poster's website
Bob Zou



Joined: 21 Jul 2016
Posts: 5
Affiliation: Beijing Institute of Technology

PostPosted: November 19 2017  Reply with quote

Hi,
I once came across this issues, too. This is my experience, hope helps.
(1) not enough steps of your chains, waiting for more steps
(2) maybe there are bugs for the getdist you used. This is my case.
Following
https://github.com/cmbant/getdist/commit/225d4886dc6eaebb6af5bba8f136edd0a767a4e6 I solved the issues "contour levels must be increasing".

Good Luck.
Back to top
View user's profile  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CosmoCoffee Forum Index -> Computers and software All times are GMT + 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group. Sponsored by WordWeb online dictionary and dictionary software.