Getdist GUI

Use of Cobaya. camb, CLASS, cosmomc, compilers, etc.
Post Reply
Tristan L Smith
Posts: 25
Joined: November 14 2005
Affiliation: Swarthmore
Contact:

Getdist GUI

Post by Tristan L Smith » July 20 2015

Hello all,

I successfully used the getdist GUI today, but after logging back into my account it has stopped working. When I run the GUI now I receive the following error message:

Code: Select all

File "/home/physics/Documents/PlanckR2/cosmomc/python/getdist/gui/mainwindow.py", line 116, in __init__
    self.listDirectories.setCurrentIndex(Dirs.index(lastDir))
ValueError: u'/home/physics/Documents/PlanckR2/cosmomc/chains' is not in list
The same error message appears when I am trying to run the GUI from a different directory (i.e. it always points to the same directory). I am guessing that there is some place to clear the 'lastDir', or that I am missing some input when running the GUI. I run it from the cosmomc directory with the command

Code: Select all

python/GetDistGUI.py
The GUI is so useful, so any help on getting it to work consistently would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Antony Lewis
Posts: 1941
Joined: September 23 2004
Affiliation: University of Sussex
Contact:

Re: Getdist GUI

Post by Antony Lewis » July 20 2015

Does the change of 17th July fix this, latest at

https://github.com/cmbant/cosmomc

?

Alejandro Aviles
Posts: 1
Joined: January 24 2011
Affiliation: UC Berkeley

Getdist GUI

Post by Alejandro Aviles » July 22 2015

Hi Tristan and Antony

I had the same problem and dealt with it --not sure if this is the best way-- by commenting the following lines in the file ./python/getdist/gui/mainwindow.py (about line 115):

Code: Select all

            """
	       if os.path.exists(lastDir):
                self.listDirectories.setCurrentIndex(Dirs.index(lastDir))
                self.openDirectory(lastDir)
            else:
                self.listDirectories.setCurrentIndex(-1)
            """
Note: I am using July2015 CosmoMC version.

Hope it works for you.

Antony Lewis
Posts: 1941
Joined: September 23 2004
Affiliation: University of Sussex
Contact:

Re: Getdist GUI

Post by Antony Lewis » July 22 2015

Does this come from previously having used the previous gui version?
In any case I pushed an additional fix along these lines, now on github.

Tristan L Smith
Posts: 25
Joined: November 14 2005
Affiliation: Swarthmore
Contact:

Getdist GUI

Post by Tristan L Smith » August 02 2015

Hi Antony and Alejandro,

Thanks for your help! After commenting out the code which Alejandro referenced, the gui works great.

Best,

Tristan

Post Reply