adding parameters, empty chains

Use of Cobaya. camb, CLASS, cosmomc, compilers, etc.
Post Reply
César Terrero-Escalante
Posts: 5
Joined: April 16 2008
Affiliation: CINVESTAV

adding parameters, empty chains

Post by César Terrero-Escalante » January 16 2009

Dear all,

I have added three new slow parameters following the information in the Readme file of the COSMOMC and in several similar topics here. I summarize the changes I have made at the end of this message. I tried running COSMOMC with both options; asking for estimating a new covariance matrix and also with the old matrix filled with zeros for the added entries. In any case I got the following output on the screen (this is an example using 6 processors)

===
Number of MPI processes: 6
Random seeds: 2354, 15909 rand_inst: 1
Random seeds: 12426, 30014 rand_inst: 5
Random seeds: 30414, 24716 rand_inst: 3
Computing tensors: F
Doing CMB lensing: T
lmax = 2100
Number of C_ls = 3
Random seeds: 17023, 772 rand_inst: 6
Random seeds: 5732, 22170 rand_inst: 4
Random seeds: 8613, 796 rand_inst: 2
Computing tensors: F
Doing CMB lensing: T
lmax = 2100
Number of C_ls = 3
Computing tensors: F
Doing CMB lensing: T
lmax = 2100
Number of C_ls = 3
Computing tensors: F
Doing CMB lensing: T
lmax = 2100
Number of C_ls = 3
Computing tensors: F
Doing CMB lensing: T
lmax = 2100
Number of C_ls = 3
Computing tensors: F
Doing CMB lensing: T
lmax = 2100
Number of C_ls = 3
===
and nothing else, even after a couple of days. I have checked the chains and all of they are empty as well as the log files.

I would appreciate any help.

Best,
César.

====
Summary of modifications to COSMOMC
====

The new parameters are defined in modules.f90 of CAMB as

type CAMBparams

real(dl) :: qVpar1, qVpar2, qVpar3

---
In COSMOMC they are added with

In settings.f90

integer, parameter :: num_hard =10

---

In cmbtypes.f90

Type CMBParams

real Q1, Q2, Q3

---

In params_CMB.f90

subroutine SetForH(Params,CMB,H0)

CMB%Q1 = Params(8)
CMB%Q2 = Params(9)
CMB%Q3 = Params(10)

subroutine CMBParamsToParams(CMB, Params)

Params(8) = CMB%Q1
Params(9) = CMB%Q2
Params(10) = CMB%Q3

---
In CMB_Cls_simple.f90

subroutine CMBToCAMB(CMB,P)

P%qVpar1 = CMB%Q1
P%qVpar2 = CMB%Q2
P%qVpar3 = CMB%Q3

---

In params.ini

param8 = 10 100 1000 10 10
param9 = 0.01 0.001 0.1 0.01 0.01
param10 = 0 0 0 0 0

#n_s
param11 = 0.95 0.5 1.5 0.02 0.01
#n_t
param12 = 0 0 0 0 0
#n_run
param13 = 0 0 0 0 0

#log[10^10 A_s]
param14 = 3 2.7 4 0.01 0.01
#amp_ratio
param15 = 0 0 0 0 0
#SZ amplitude, as in WMAP analysis
param16 = 1 0 2 0.4 0.4

Ben Gold
Posts: 81
Joined: September 25 2004
Affiliation: University of Minnesota
Contact:

adding parameters, empty chains

Post by Ben Gold » January 20 2009

I don't know that this is the only issue, but this looks like a problem:
param8 = 10 100 1000 10 10
The starting value isn't in the range provided.

César Terrero-Escalante
Posts: 5
Joined: April 16 2008
Affiliation: CINVESTAV

adding parameters, empty chains

Post by César Terrero-Escalante » January 21 2009

Dear Ben,

Thank you. Indeed, that silly error was the source of the problem.

Best regards,
César.

Post Reply